Awards & Recognition

January 31, 2017
Congress for the New Urbanism Charter Award
Block, Street, and Building

The Charter Awards, administered annually by CNU since 2001, celebrate the best work in this new era of placemaking. The winners not only embody and advance the principles of the Charter—they also make a difference in people’s lives.

The Charter identifies three major scales of geography for design and policy purposes. The largest scale is composed of regions. The middle scale is made up of neighborhoods, districts, and corridors. The smallest scale is composed of blocks, streets, and buildings.

Charter Awards are given to projects at each scale, and special recognition is reserved for the best projects at the professional and student levels. Honored by the world’s preeminent award for urban design, winners set new standards for placemaking and community building.

Park Van Ness
Award Website
Contact Information
Laurie Milligan
stay connected